top of page


Le docteur Miracle
Georges Bizet

Originally written to be performed with piano in intimate space, Viardot always dreamed of orchestrating Cendrillon, but in the absence at the time of any hope that an orchestra would perform a work by a female composer – even one as well-regarded and well-connected as Viardot – she never did.

This production fulfils her desire with a new chamber orchestration by Amy Crankshaw - Guildhall doctoral composer and a graduate of the School’s MA Opera Making & Writing programme presented in an association with the Royal Opera House.

This opéra-comique double bill opens with Georges Bizet's one-act Le docteur Miracle – a witty tale of romance, disguise and an omelette, filled with the youthful vitality of the 18-year-old composer.

Cast - Le docteur Miracle

Laurette                           Ellie Neate
Véronique                       Amy Holyland

                                          Laura Fleur
Capitaine Silvio/


Docteur Miracle             Innocent Masuku  

                                          Florian Panzieri

Le Podestat                    Jack Holton

Pauline Viardot 

Guildhall Opera Double Bill | 2022

Conductor                                           Dominic Wheeler

Viardot Orchestration                       Amy Crankshaw

Director                                                Ashley Dean

Designer                                              Cordelia Chisholm

Lighting                                                Kevin Treacy

Movement Director                           Victoria Newlyn

Assistant Conductor                        Digory Price

Assistant Director                             Rachel Wise

Stage Manager                                  Miriam Houghton

DSM                                                       Emily Robertson

Production Manager                         Matthew Servant

Cendrillon                          Cleo Lee-McGowan

                                             Segomotso Shupinyaneng 
La Fée                                  Ellie Neate
Maguelonne                      Erin Gwyn Rossington
Armelinde                           Laura Fleur

                                              Amy Holyland 
Le Prince Charmant         Florian Panzieri
Le Comte Barigoule         Innocent Masuku
Le Baron de Pictordu      Jack Holton


Mariana Fernandes; Anna Gregg; Rebecca Milford; Chloe Todd;

Lyla Levy-Jordan; Lydia Haynes; Katie Richardson McCrea;

Elle Oldfield; Hamish James; Connor Smith; George Robarts; Michael Ferguson

Cast - Cendrillon

bottom of page